Alcoholism: Phases Or Stages

Alcoholism Stage 1: Abstaining

If an individual has perceptions and attitudes uniform with those that addicts typically display, alcohol addiction can actually start before the alcohol consumption gets started.

Alcoholism Stage 2: Original Use

Stage two can include things like the experimental use of alcohol, periodic use, or periodic binge drinking (i.e., one or two times a year). Initial usage of alcohol may not be a problem for the user or those persons who are close to the user. Occasional alcohol consumption may well cause difficulties while the user is intoxicated or the following day, he or she has not reached the stage of dependence.

Alcoholism Stage 3: High Risk Use

Significant risk refers to an abundance of alcohol consumption, and poor choices made when intoxicated. At this stage, the pattern and frequency of alcohol abuse is significant enough to be dangerous for the drinker and those people around them.

Alcoholism Stage 4: Problematic Use

Problematic use of alcohol happens when the adverse consequences of drinking becomes obvious. Health concerns become problems, including impaired liver function and/or STDs (sexual transmitted diseases).

Alcoholism Stage 5: Early Stage of Dependence

The early stage of alcohol dependence is distinguisheded by noticeable problems. At this point, alcohol rehab is most effective.

Alcoholism Stage 6: Middle Stage of Dependency

During the middle stage of alcoholism, harmful consequences begin to escalate. The user loses his or her job due to too many skipped days at work.

Alcoholism Stage 7: Crisis Stage of Dependency

Serious physical health problems become issues. This stage frequently results in alcohol-related deaths for the users if they do not enter alcohol rehabilitation.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Comments on “Alcoholism: Phases Or Stages”

Leave a Reply